Thursday, October 12, 2017

OUC008 : Mû / From Form

Art cover by Vincent Capes

OUC008 : Mû / From Form

The repertoire of Mû consists of "Mouves".

Mixing complex compositions and inspired improvisations, Mû spreads with those "Mouves" a remarkable and seductive music derived from chamber music, rock, science fiction soundtrack and electronic music.

Elusive, they operate by a succession of steps in continuous flow.

Mystical and sensitive, lush and intense, Yann Lecollaire's compositions and telepathic interplay open a new level of subtle nuance and transcendent melancholy in Olivier Messaien's modes.

From left to right: Yann, Eric, Quentin and Benjamin

Inside cover

Recorded originally in November 2013 by Maxime Gendebien, studio Pyramide, Brussels.
Mixed and mastered by Dre Pallemaerts.

Yann Lecollaire: clarinets, editing, programming.
Quentin Manfroy: flutes.
Eric Bribosia: Fender Rhodes, SH101, piano, Hammon dB3.
Benjamin Chaval: drums, noise, left hand keyboard, electrictable.

Digital release on the 13th of Octobr 2017.

Track listing:

1: Mouve 12
2: Mouve 11
3: Mouve 2
4: Mouve 8 
5: Mouve 6
6: Mouve 3
7: Mouve 10

There are still some copies of the original cd available here:

Thursday, October 5, 2017

OUC007 : John Franek / I'm Sure You Can Imagine

Cover art by A.L.

OUC007 : John Franek / I'm Sure You Can Imagine 

Another 13 minutes pieces on harpsichord by maestro John Franek. 
All is played manually, no loops here! 'I'm Sure You Can Imagine' shows once again the love of this artist for the sound of the instrument as well as the complexity of the many layers of intended repetition of patterns. 
It could reminds us the way of the minimal music pioneered in the 60ties by great composers such as La Monte Young, Terry Riley, Steve Reich and Philip Glass.
After the subtle ambient 'La Mer dans le ciel (see ODG063), the four hands piano 'Slower' (see OUC002) and the dark elements from 'I Hav Not See What Other Saw' (see OUC005), this is another side of the multifaceted John!

Digitally release on the 6th of October 2017.

Track listing:

1: I'm Sure You Can Imagine

Thursday, September 28, 2017

OAS006 : Baishui/ Diary of Broken Sounds

covert art by A.L. from a Baishui drawing

OAS006 : Baishui/ Diary of Broken Sounds

Third release on Off from Sichuan born Baishui (who lives now in the US) after the post rockish No Intrinsic, No Independent (see OAS003) and the intriguing contemporary post folk Sound In Motion (see OUC003), Diary of Broken Sounds (originally released in December 2013, without the bonus suite ' Night Songs for the Half Moon), follows quickly on the release of his first full-length soundtrack album, Einstein and Einstein and is actually Baishui’s ninth album. Both albums, though quite distinct, remain important signposts on the road to understanding the artist’s perpetual search for the optimal form of artistic expression. 

If Einstein’s overall feel is a heavy yang, Diary goes yin with a lighter, yet still full, sound. Though electronics are an essential part of Diary, the feeling is distinctly unplugged, in stark contrast to recent forrays into post-rock and experimental music. Diary, in short, takes a minimalist approach to the artist’s very maximalist goal: the pursuit of a new music—“Baishui Music”—with an Eastern core. 

Chimes and flutes float playfully across wide-open expanses; static-like sounds pierce the bed created by carefully-plucked strings evoking both old-time blues and new-age soundscape with an overall ambient-world-music vibe that is equal parts meditative and playful. For brief moments, the listener is rewarded with the haunting vocals of long-time collaborator Yuan Tian, transporting both music and audience to points far above ground and back in time. 

Diary is the artist’s journey—and, as listeners, we are along for the ride—through a freshly-carved yet still-to-be-fully-mapped-out terrain: “Baishui Music.”

All music, instruments,sounds,produced and mixed by Baishui.
Mastered by luo keju.
Vocal & original art work by Yuan Tian.

Original cover artwork

Digital release on the 29th of September 2017.

Track listing:

1: Lost Impression, Pt. 1
2: Lost Impression, Pt. 2
3: Children’s Dreams, Pt. 1
4: Children’s Dreams, Pt. 2
5: Reverse Memories, Pt. 1
6: Reverse Memories, Pt. 2
7: Geometry, Pt. 1
8: Geometry, Pt. 2
9: Geometry, Pt. 3
10: Ballad, Pt. 1
11: Night Songs for the Half Moon, Pt. 1 - Pt. 5 -Whisper, Reverse, Drunk Leaves, Branches, Ritual - Bonus track 

Thursday, September 21, 2017

ORT020 : Bicipital Fine / Bicipital Fine

Cover art by Noah Punkt

ORT020 : Bicipital Fine / Bicipital Fine

Somewhere up North. Maybe. A small abandoned Village. Plants finding their way through
the cracks in the concrete. Reconquering. Creaking. Howling. A beauteous force. One
Force of resistance and bloom. Something small but powerful, forging ahead. Little by little
and irresistible – Causing a tender friction.

Bicipital Fine. Five. Derek Baron, Cameron Kapoor, Brad Henkel, John Andrew Wilhite and
Noah Punkt. A euro-american encounter of quiet force, of soft and fragile tugging. This
wonderful music is an abrasive minimalism full of curiosity and creative urge.

Derek Baron – Flute, Objects
Cameron Kapoor – Guitar, Objects
Brad Henkel – Trumpet
John Andrew Wilhite – Double Bass
Noah Punkt – Double Bass, Recorder

The band live

An impressive bio about works, bands and all from Noah Punkt :
And John Andrew Wilhites

Physical and digital release on the 22nd of September 2017.

Track listing:
1: Bicipital Fine, Part.1
2: Bicipital Fine, Part.2
3: Bicipital Fine, Part.3
4: Bicipital Fine, Part.4
5: Bicipital Fine, Part.5


Thursday, September 14, 2017

ODG074 : The Paul Swest : Sports Car Illusions

Covert art by Charles Chace

ODG074 : The Paul Swest : Sports Car Illusions

Charles Chace is an artist and musician from Massachusetts who has exhibited in galleries in New York City, Miami and North Carolina. 
His recent works consist of a multimedia installation that included paper collage, video, and manipulatable noise machines. 
Other recent work includes a series of portrait paintings that Dave Bazan used for record covers. 
He also has an ongoing avant-garde musical project under the moniker The Paul Swest. Using multi-track recording he bounces between instruments, constructing layered improvisations that range from free form splatter to surf-jazz, from Derek Bailey to post-rock.

If you are ready to surf on all those genres, this is an album that will open your brain to  ecstasy! 

Charles Chace

Recorded at Beep Wave Studio.
Recorded by Brian Paulson.
Mastered by Yuuki Matthews.

Digital release on the 15th of September 2017.

Track listing:

1: Slandered
2: Silver Fang Alert
3: Glacier
4: Wanna Dance
5: Climate Refinement